Heroic Officers, Off-Duty Heroes Receive Awards

Publish Date 03/16/2022


Seven members from the TAC 20 Squad received the Medal of Valor, while one received the Distinguished Service Medal on March 15, capping a night of recognition for heroic officers.

The TAC 20 Squad members saved two children from a violent suspect during a hostage situation in April of 2021.

In addition, Officer Keegan Gemmell and Officer Christopher Sticken received Distinguished Service Medals, along with Officer Alexander Cruz who received a Certificate of Commendation. The trio stopped a gunman after he shot a bus driver and fired at the officers.

News Coverage of award recipientshttps://fox4kc.com/news/kc-officers-honored-for-quick-thinking-that-helped-save-lives/


The list of award winners follows:


Medal of Valor

Sergeant Bryan Truman

Officer William Bedell

Officer Nickolas McNallan

Officer Jared Fugate

Sergeant Terry Grimmett

Officer Walter Loving III

Officer Spencer Wheeler


Distinguished Service Medal

Sergeant Matthew Payne

Officer Keegan Gemmell

Officer Christopher Sticken


Certificate of Commendation

Officer Alexander Cruz

Sergeant Bobbie King

Sergeant Bryan Truman

Sergeant Terry Grimmett

Sergeant Daniel Stookey

Officer Briggs Webster

Officer Joseph Dunwoodie

Officer Cody Johnson

Officer Nickolas McNallan

Detective Johnathon Dawdy


Meritorious Service Award

Major Mark Folsom

Sergeant Daniel Stookey

Sergeant Skip Cox

Retired Officer Sam Leslie


Life-Saving Award

Officer Briggs Webster

Officer Michael Bertacini

Officer Nicole Laethem

Officer Blake Ross

Officer Wade Robinson


Certificate of Appreciation

Michael Brown