Skip to main content
TWITTER BANNER2 (1500 x 1000 px)-5.png


Board of Police Commissioners

The Board of Police Commissioners is responsible for providing police service to the residents of Kansas City, MO, as mandated by Missouri statute. The governor, with the consent of the state Senate, appoints four Kansas City residents to serve on the board. These commissioners serve four-year terms, with one member’s term expiring each year. The fifth member of the board is the mayor of Kansas City. The secretary/attorney of the board is appointed by the commissioners and acts as legal consultant.

Board of Police Commissioners meetings are usually streamed live on the City’s Channel 2 television station, their website and on KCPD's YouTube page.

To contact members of the Board of Police Commissioners, please email

*Doors to the Community Room where the Board of Police Commissioners meetings are held will be open to the public at 9:00 a.m.*

Click here to view the Board of Police Commissioners Bylaws.