Skip to main content

Courageous Officers, Dedicated Employees Receive Awards

Publish Date 12/08/2021

Dozens of KCPD officers and employees received awards on Dec. 7, 2021, recognizing their courageous and dedicated acts of service.

Among the recipients was Officer Blaine Kennedy, who received the Distinguished Service Medal and Purple Heart Award. On June 3, 2020, a man that Officer Kennedy was trying to help stabbed the officer in the chest. Though critically injured, Officer Kennedy willed himself to stand up, chase down the suspect, and hold him at gunpoint until other officers arrived.

Officer Noah Stigall also received the Distinguished Service Medal. On Dec. 18, 2020, Officer Stigall was off-duty and driving home from work when he came upon a house that was on fire. Officer Stigall rushed into the burning home and rescued a brother and sister.

Various officers (see below) received awards for saving the lives of Kansas City residents. Additionally, a helicopter crew was honored for tracking down a homicide suspect, landing in an unexpected spot, and chasing down the suspect on foot.

Employees who dedicated themselves to improving KCPD’s services also received recognition.

The awards ceremony took place at the Regional Police Academy.

Here is a list of award recipients:


Certificate of Appreciation

Ron Harvey

Mike Smith


Life-Saving Award

Detective Danielle Kincaid

Sergeant Justin Pinkerton

Officer Marc Canovi

Officer Michael Schneider and Officer Kirby Urbanek

Officer Jeremy Chick and Officer Dillon Viet

Officer Cole Modeer

Officer Mark Diviak and Officer Alayna Gonzalez


Special Unit Citation

Communications Unit

Traffic Investigations Unit

East Patrol Division 310 Sector Watch IIIA


Meritorious Service Award

Retired Supervisor Mike Russell

Captain William Hewitt

Civilian Kyle Wadlow and Retired Civilian Deborah Yelverton

Officer Scott Brulja and Officer Bradley Rains


Certificate of Commendation

Sergeant Billy Dotson

Officer Matthew Francois, Officer Brandon Sherman and Officer Alexander Votaw

Officer Joseph Chabot and Officer Darin Lutz


Distinguished Service Medal

Officer Noah Stigall


Distinguished Service Medal and Purple Heart Award

Officer Blaine Kennedy